You will never again need coffee… – YLB by Sidney Samson & Leroy Styles

Before you hit play, may I suggest you extricate yourself from your cube and relocate to the nearest empty conference room – trust me you’ll need it. On the up side, it will give your fellow co-workers the impression you are busy doing something productive as opposed to wasting time reading my mindless ramblings.

Oh dear, sweet, naive Tello, you still think people read these…

While the track YLB – short for “You Little Bitch” – may be a bit loud for some people, I see no better way to start off the morning than with a barrage of angry, loud noises. YLB is a tremendously dark and intense track that wastes no time building up to the first drop. As soon as the bass kicks in, you can tell that the artists mean business; and if you’re anything like me, you begin to salivate at the thought of what’s to come.

Really… it’s just me?

Perhaps I should consult a doctor…

This is an eerily close approximation to what I look like.

This is an eerily close approximation to what I look like.

The first drop may catch you somewhat off guard, but the break at least gives you time to catch the breath that was just beaten out of you. You hear the faint sound of the melody in the background and slowly the pace quickens, the claps start, the synth starts taking over, and you brace yourself for impact.

“YOU LITTLE BITCH!”

The man is really a poet at heart.

The man is really a poet at heart.

Okay, so maybe not the most thought provoking lyrics, but nevertheless the chorus incredible! (As I write I have the insatiable urge to punch the wall in front of me.) The twisted and contorted vocal gives the chorus an immensely dark, almost “eternal-damnation” kind of feeling that I have not heard in quite some time. It is just stellar!

And vaguely reminiscent of Godzilla tearing through Tokyo.

No matter how bad, these are still the best movies of my childhood.

No matter how terrible they are, they’re still the best movies of my childhood.

The eventually chorus dies down a bit and you get to enjoy the only “light-hearted” part of the track’s melody. Catchy yes, but enjoy it while you can because, before you know it, the buildup starts once again and back you go into the torrent of noise (and awesomeness). All I can think about for the rest of the track is…

POWER!!! (just in case you missed the meme)

I believe the meme speaks for itself… POWER!!!!

Enjoy! (and listen responsibly) Let me know what you think of the track!

Leave a comment