Black Light – Ferry Corsten

Now that Gatsby is more or less out of my system, it’s time to get back to my electronic roots. Today is all about Mr. Ferry Corsten and his new track called “Black Light” (well not so new now, I took too much time playing around with/setting up this blog…) which, while the track may be “old” in my book, doesn’t detract one bit from its awesomeness.

This is just a good old fashion trance song that reminds me of my early days when I first became interested in the genre. Overall the track takes a bit of time before it gets into the main melody (as all great trance songs do), and while my friends may become irritated for having to wait until the song is halfway over before it “gets good”, I believe it is definitely well worth it.

The first half of this track is all about building the mood and I think Ferry does a great job of creating a very dark, somewhat mysterious tone throughout the entire track. After about a minute into the track you start to get into groove and, if you anything like me, you start to bob your head and your body begins to uncontrollably move to the rhythm of the track.

Just when you finally start to get settled in, the bass falls out and there is this brief, fleeting moment of peace that can only be savored for a second before vanishing into static. From there you are gently eased into the track’s hook which almost immediately becomes hard coded into your memory (I certainly couldn’t get it out of my head for weeks after, not that I wanted to…). Little by little, the other song elements are added and once the bass kicks back in you are off the races (and at this point I  pretty much look like I’m having a seizure… but fear not, that’s just how I dance).

Enjoy!

Leave a comment