Animals – Martin Garrix

Today’s track is one that I have heard a lot of lately and, without fail, it instantly grabs my attention away from which ever glorified TPS report I happen to be mindlessly working on at the time.

…and shame on you if you’ve never seen Office Space…

During the day I have adopted a relatively straightforward process for determining which tracks I write about. Simply put, if the track causes me to immediately reach the nearest writing utensil (or stray fork on the off-chance I eat at my desk) and begin drumming out the beat onto my laptop and/or desk, I know I have found a winner. It is quite the comical sight for nearby coworkers as I go to town hitting every flat surface I can find in my little hamster box they call a cubicle.

And since this track very nearly caused me to lose the “N” key on my laptop due to my intense faux-drumming, it most definitely deserves a post. 

The track’s intro consists of a relatively simple melody which slowly fades in the baseline which makes for an easy track to mix in during a live set. Once the intro has run its course, my favorite part of the track kicks in. As the intro’s buildup slowly fades out, you are left with only the ticking sounds of an old clock. Little by little the ticks pick up speed and the hook of the track is slowly introduced again. This stellar combination of clock and hook I could probably listen to for the entire duration of the track and is the tell-tail sign of great things to come.

As the clock drops out the hook takes center stage and slowly leads you through the next buildup on the track. The uplifting, high-energy hook definitely makes for an exciting buildup, and just as you begin to slowly close your eyes to savor the buildup, the track makes a sudden 180 degree turn and dive-bombs you into dark and mysterious chorus with an overwhelming bassline. Although fairly reminiscent of Sandro Silva & Quintino’s track “Epic”, I believe this track’s chorus is far more engaging and memorable. From there it is another buildup and another glorious pummeling by the track’s bassline

…oh, how I can only imagine the feeling of the track when played through massive concert sized subwoofers… *chills*

However, to my dismay, the chirping tick-tock of the clock never makes a return appearance. Alas, the poor, unappreciated clock is relegated to the sidelines for the remainder of the track (more than likely sitting next to its other often underutilized friend… the cowbell).

Enjoy!

Leave a comment