Rocker – Afrojack

For the first time in my life I’m actually happy it’s Wednesday. Knowing that I will be able to escape the office and spend the evening writing and listening to music has become the highlight of my day. Thanks to tracks like Rocker, I have all the more reason to spend the day sitting in my cube smiling and bobbing my head. Within seconds of hearing the track, I could tell who was responsible for this marvelous little tune. I could smell – er, hear – Afrojack’s signature high-pitched, anxiety-inducing synth from a mile away.

Like a turd covered in burn hair.

Nailed it...

Nailed it…

The synth can be a bit overwhelming at first, but once it cuts out – and your anxiety finally subsides – the track transitions to a surprising calm and melodic hook. Slowly the “vocals” (if you can call them that) are introduced and you’re off to the races. The best part is that Afrojack takes, what I can only imagine was already an ethereal vocal, and slices and dices the hell out of it to make the track’s melody.

Of course I’m sure there are ways he could cut down on the creative process.

Slap Chop

The track continues with an eardrum-pounding chorus that only the Dutch master can deliver. I can imagine a crowd’s reaction when the drop hits, but unfortunately I’m struggling to relate at the moment. I suppose listening to this track from my vapid little cubicle doesn’t really instill much excitement.

Seriously, why the fuck is everything in the damn building colored taupe!

Thankfully, I have a laser in my apartment…  so if you need me; you’ll know where to find me.

Charles the Raver

Enjoy and let me know what you think!

Leave a comment