Dear Boy, Hey Brother, and Wake Me Up – Avicii

As a penance for skipping out on my last two Monday posts, I have three tracks for you so that I may right this reprehensible scheduling violation. Seeing as you’re in need of some upbeat music, I’m going to go with a few sure fire winners.

“Doesn’t he know that nobody actually reads these things?”

These tracks have been sitting on the back burner for a while now since I prefer to try and find tracks that (hopefully) aren’t already massively popular, but good music is good music regardless of popularity. As such, I’m going to go through my top three tracks of Avicii’s new(ish) album True. So without further ado, let the games begin!

The first track out of the gate will not surprise anyone. Wake Me Up is without a doubt the most popular track of the entire album. It has effectively been used to market the rest of the album. If anything this track actually surprised me, normally I’m not one to think that the lead single would rank as one of my favorites. Plus I was shocked to find out that even though I detest anything related to country music, this track is still fantastic!

Yes, the guy from Texas hates country…

*cough* He’s also not a fan of football. *cough* *cough*

“WHAT! Who the fuck let a Democrat (read: heretic) in! Get the gun!”

Surprisingly, the number two spot also goes to another  country-esque tune that I can’t seem to get out of my head: Hey Brother. There are so many things that I love about this track. For starters, the track’s intro is oddly melancholic, focusing heavily on the guitar and male vocal. This is particularly odd considering Avicii is renowned for more lighthearted tracks, but the added emotion component is a welcome change of pace.

So long as the guy doesn’t go off whining about his truck breaking or girlfriend leaving him.

...there have been better ideas.

Surely this wasn’t the only idea he could come up with.

Slowly the track picks up the pace and guides you back to that uplifting chorus that we all know and love. However even with that said, the best aspect of the track is how well Avicii seamlessly transitions between the country focused intro/break and the more house-centric chorus. The wonderful integration of these two aspects makes for a spectacular track that never ceases to amaze.

Electronic music, like duct tape, has the power to fix every genre it touches – even country.

I look forward to your hate mail.

Duct Tape

The number one spot on the podium goes to Dear Boy simply because it never fails to lift my spirits and slap a child-like grin on my face every time it plays. It doesn’t matter how dreary the day is, how many “TPS” reports I have to file, or how tired I may feel – the moment this track comes on my worries simply evaporate.

Let’s be real, it’s my favorite because there isn’t any country in it.

The track’s jovial little melody is oddly juxtaposed with an eerily – almost hauntingly – beautiful vocal. It goes remarkably well with the overall track and even reminds me a little bit of the Lana Del Rey vocal from Young and Beautiful. While it does a great job of breaking up the song, the unbelievably energetic chorus is stellar! The fact that it just keeps going and going for the majority of the song easily makes it number one!

Nope, it’s because there’s no country… definitely the no country thing.

Talk about convenience!

Talk about convenience!

For those of you interested in listening to more Avicii, my honorable mentions for the album are Lay Me Down, You Make Me, and Shame On Me.

Let me know what you think! Enjoy!

Leave a comment